25 Comments

I'll say it over and over again... It has never been about science, because all scientific references tell us that masks do not work. But it cannot be about "respect" either. If I really believed that I can give you COVID, then it may be a sign of respect to wear a mask, in an attempt (however futile) to avoid it. But the fact is that no one - unless they are sick - has any significant risk of transmitting this virus to others by just walking around without a mask. So, wearing a mask is not about "respect"; it is just about having been duped into believing something ridiculous.

Expand full comment

This basically sums up my trip over Memorial Day: the bluer the area, MA and CT specifically on my way up to Maine, the more compulsive the masking. You could spot the long distance travelers at the CT rest areas by their dumbfounded looks on their bare faces! Crossing into NH, it even seemed like normalcy where store employees weren't masked anymore either. I just avoided the few beachfront shops that still had "please wear a mask" signs. Kind of sucks being back on Long Island today, near 100% compliance despite all the masking signs coming down over the weekend.

Expand full comment

I'm more interested in CNN - Tapper and his producers - asking real (ish) questions. Tapper wasn't going rogue in asking these questions. As I'm not a mind reader, I'm left wondering if this move is as:

1. CNN can see their viewership plummet - for their target demo even. Is this part of a strategic move to attempt to claw back credibility?

2. Trump is now 6 months in the rear mirror. The attention span of Americans is short. Is CNNs assessment that it's now ok to question Team Blue, however politely?

Expand full comment

It’s behavioural science. If everyone uses mask, everyone remembers all the time about the pandemia.

I

Expand full comment

The mask mandate is still in effect in Pennsylvania for the "unvaccinated". About a week ago, they told us that the mandate would be lifted on June 28 or when 70% of the adult population was "fully vaccinated"...whichever came first. The leftist loonies went crazy. What if 70% haven't have gotten the injections by that date? Oh, no. Over the weekend, they dropped "whichever comes first". I'm not sure if that's meaningful.

But, now I'm in a quandary when I go into a building. Do I defiantly go maskless because masks are useless? Or do I defiantly wear the mask as a protest against the injection coercion?

I don't want my lack of mask to be interpreted as an endorsement fo the poison injections and socially coerce others who are wearing masks.

So, for the time being, I guess I'll wear the mask.

Expand full comment

Is Pete still riding his bike to work? Is he wearing a mask while doing so? How much does this joker get paid to be a moron?

Expand full comment

My wearing a mask in your presence, even though I don't want to and even though there is no logical, scientific reason, is my way of saying, "I respect your right to be a frightened, irrational germaphobe."

Expand full comment

Ah the same Pete who could barely manage to fill in the potholes while he ran the booming metropolis of South Bend, which as everyone knows is the best form of training to become the secretary of transportation! Wake me up when this bad dream ends! Pete B is a virtue signaller without par, and gives

Me a bit of a Justin Trudeau vibe. Speaking of whom just sprained his ankle playing frisbee! Yup these are our leaders. We should be very afraid

Expand full comment

I'm just a kitten when it comes to Substack, so I can't figure out how to email you directly. Please forgive me for a comment that's not related to this post:

I saw this on the front page of Reddit. https://www.reddit.com/r/news/comments/npna39/no_going_back_to_normal_43000_us_kids_lost_a/

I was wondering if you could explain it/put it in the proper context? Because all I see in the comments is hysteria.

Expand full comment

The issue is: Do you want the people who don't wear a mask to get a tatoo or wear their vaccine card around their neck to show they have been vaccinated? Otherwise many folks will simply claim they have been vaccinated when they haven't. I understand those cloth masks are useless but few people understand that. The solution to the problem would be to get the CDC to admit all that mask wearing was cosplay, but that isn't going to happen, so the eventual solution is for them to say you don't have to wear a mask. However, in Florida, Gov. DeSantis already did that, but left it up to individual businesses whether to allow unmasked customers. In my experience only about 10% allow the unmasked, and for those, almost all the customers still wear them, still pulled down below their nose and often below their mouths.

Expand full comment

that peat...

mask science flimsiness is far behind the mirage that wuhan lockdown worked and is model for places that do not [yet, seems ontario is pursuing] have the pla to weld doors shut.....

peat less dot sec than liz dole with the office lap dog

Expand full comment