94 Comments

I've met plenty of elderly people who refuse to live isolated and in fear. They figure a life lived with others yet shortened by a virus would be better than being lonely and isolated.

Expand full comment

My grandmother died alone in assisted living in 2020 (not from covid) thanks to “focused care” so while I get that on the one hand, on the other hand our seniors aren’t just numbers and THEY should be able to choose. Locking down nursing homes and ALFs to protect them while denying them even marginal liberties is abuse. Period.

Expand full comment

Here is the problem. Drs Kuldorff and Battacharya are academicians. I think highly of them both. Vulnerable care home residents, for nearly two years now, have been treated worse than criminals in prison. Isolated in their rooms, prevented from seeing friends or loved ones for two years. The cost to their physical and mental health has been catastrophic. Some can no longer walk independently due to unsteadiness and lack of physical exercise, some can no longer read a book, no longer able concentrate. Some have lost weight due to depression. The list goes on and on. To say “our public health authorities would do well to remember” all the damages THEY have inflicted on this group of vulnerable people is probably something similar to pissing in the wind.

Far better would be to say we (academicians) are gathering the countries/world’s geriatricians and requesting to meet with the health authorities in every state, country to demand the vulnerable be treated with more what? Thoughtfulness, kindness, empathy to avoid further injury. When isolation is found to cause injury to a vulnerable person’s physical and mental health care homes have complete control in avoiding such a measure. It is time our health authorities continue to give guidance, but also allow care home experts to make decisions based on what they are witnessing.

The health authorities have been a disaster in their advice to care homes, housing vulnerable people. This must stop.

Expand full comment

With attention grabbing Epidemiologists & virologists everywhere, I am starting to like used car sales people, lawyers, & insurance sales people a little bit.

Expand full comment

What ever happened to Fauci’s you only need to wear masks to stop the hospital surge? It is a virus, much like the common cold. We are never going to stop it from being spread. We can easily strengthen

our immune system and bodies to be ready to keep the virus from going into overload and causing pneumonia. Why aren’t the so called government health organizations concerned and simply instructing us on how to strengthen our immune systems. Obviously is is all about the money and power!

Expand full comment

The problem STARTS with the nursing homes. My Dad was there for at least 7 years. No sunshine whatsoever... crappy food, no exercise, staff overworked. My mother made me promise I would never put her in one after visiting hi 3 x a week all those years. I would rather sit on the beach and watch the tide come up over me!

Expand full comment

I am 75 & never submitted to any fear from day one.

What did scare me is how quickly intelligent human beings (including Doctors & Physician Asst & Nurse Practitioners) “OBEYED”

without question.

I immediately smell Communism. My gut told me that this WUHAN VIRUS was deliberately released on the world. I researched Fauci & Burks & Corona Viruses etc from day one.

I had had Nurses training & a Masters Degree. I recalled the outrageous failure with Fauci & Burks during the AIDS epidemic. I retired as Director of Patient & Community Services for my City Hospital. I knew the protocols for infectious diseases.

Thats why I was appalled when last Spring I got my annual Spring sinus infection which historically would advance to a respiratory infection. So I went to a local Care Now urgent care center to get some preventive meds.

Their protocol was to do a pcr test. It came back positive which I knew was false. I said “ OK what die we do now?” Astonishingly this so called medical “do no harm” professional looked me in the eye & said “go home & if you get to where you cant breathe go to the ER”. I was livid. I lashed back at her “ you are telling me I have the “worst” virus in 100 years, & no meds? Even with the flu you get tamiflu for Gods sake”. She responded “Thats our protocol”. I told her she cant really believe what she is saying.

So I icalled my real Doc. He didn't trust the pcr tests either & immediately called me in steroid pk & Zpack. I did well never ran a fever or lost my sense of taste & smell.

Needless to say that will my last visit to a walk in clinic. The medical field cannot be trusted to “do no harm” today.

You have to be your own patient advocate for sure.

Expand full comment

I've spent a lot of time visiting old people.

When did it become unacceptable for some of them to die?

https://markoshinskie8de.substack.com/p/when-did-it-become-unacceptable-for

Expand full comment

Yes, it's insanity. What's the point of living if you're miserable? Not to mention the actual health harms involved. Protecting people to death. Wonderful.

Expand full comment

I lost a friend to suicide during this period. Would he have committed suicide had he not been subject to CA's draconian restrictions for 1.5 years? No one knows, but having such isolation imposed on him while he was going through a divorce and living alone for the first time in his life sure didn't help.

And, my 86 year old mother almost lost her ability to walk during this period, because she was afraid to leave her condo to get the exercise she had regularly gotten prior to the shutdown. I kept encouraging her to go for walks but tv news had her terrified. Now she is unable to go for a walk independently.

None of this apparently counts to the "even one Covid death is unacceptable" fanatics.

Expand full comment

Oh please may I wake up from this ongoing and worsening nightmare.

Germany is going stark raving mad. The pent up frustrations of nearly two

years have now found the culprit - the unvaccinated.

The hatred and incitement is beyond scary.

New chancellor Scholtz says he has no red line.

Prominent public TV (ZDF) personality on her satire show compares unvaccinated to an appendix, which is useless in the greater scheme of things.

And public radio (WDR) gives advice to families for Christmas. Unvaccinated over 13s cannot take part, if you are a responsible citizen.

My daughter lives in this dystopian society.

She is unvaccinated for all the obvious reasons.

Things are falling apart, rapidly.

I am really terrified.

Expand full comment

Covid über alles! Impfung macht frei!

Expand full comment

He is a thought! If you have loved ones in nursing homes, which insist on following Fauci rules of no early treatment, give them an early Christmas gift. Buy bottles of vitamin B and C, dump them out refilling with Zinc, D3, Quercetin, and/or Ivermectin. Merry Christmas!

Expand full comment

...can’t decide whether laughter or hand holding is the best medicine... 💕🐱💕

Expand full comment

Some things more important than COVID19? That’s dangerous thinking there, Jayanta.

Expand full comment

Remember, Isolation is part of the torture and brainwashing techniques handbook and the related stresses do indeed bring on an early death in ALL age categories but especially the elderly.

Expand full comment

"It is not death that a man should fear, but he should fear never beginning to live" Marcus Aurelius. -- This one always hits home for me, because for a long time I treated life as a dress rehearsal to some bigger things coming for me in the future. And looking back I missed much that could have been.

Expand full comment

https://brownstone.org/articles/what-does-focussed-protection-mean-for-nursing-homes/

People are waking up everywhere. After almost 2 years of hibernating, they will need adjusting to the real world !

Expand full comment

The very 1st significant outbreak with deaths in the US was at a rest home in Washington State… remember?

We , all of us, should be asking ourselves very tough questions, re, why werent rest homes throughout the nation immediately protected?

( “protection” can be done without abusive isolation)

The fact that these residents were not adequately is a grievous fact.

Expand full comment

If only they let them out in the sunshine (vit D) for as many hours as possible they might’ve been spared the ‘rona AND isolation.

Expand full comment

Has anyone done a study or read any information on the use of the FLCCC protocols on elderly? Is it a significant intervention that would open up homes to more contact?

Expand full comment

Brownstone has always smelled a bit like controlled opposition.

Expand full comment

Too bad there's nothing cheap and effective at destroying microbes that runs on electricity and could be purchased at any home depot or head shop.

Expand full comment

I have seen this exact heartbreaking and sad story repeated with the families we represent in our estate planning practice.

Expand full comment

What makes me sad is that someone actually has to say this. I feel we used to know it instinctively.

Expand full comment

Was sent this disturbing preprint by a provaxxer:

https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2021.11.24.21266831v1.full.pdf

Already its title is kind of hostile. I feel tired and intimidated by difficult mathematical formulas. Could someone competent maybe have a look and tell me in simple words why this research is flawed (which I must assume it is). PS I'm not looking for "these researchers are corrupt"-kind of refutations (even if that were the case).

Expand full comment

A statement of the obvious that was forgotten immediately in March 2020.

Expand full comment

I didn't expect a sort of Spanish Inquisition

Expand full comment

The retirement community my mom lives in recently dropped their mask mandate for residents. My mom ditched hers immediately but the majority of residents still wear them. I could not be more proud of my mom.

Expand full comment

People should have the FREEDOM to choose whether they are isolated or not. Forcing it is just wrong on so many levels I cant even quantify. Taking away any advocate for hospitalized patients is abhorent and evil. That practice must stop now.

Expand full comment