79 Comments

Years ago, my father-in-law's grandson gave him a small box to unwrap. After unwrapping it, he realized the contents were empty. Without missing a beat, he said thank you. Just what I wanted, a box of love! A Christmas moment I'll never forget. Feliz Navidad!

Expand full comment

This is a beautiful representation of a gift from the one who knows you best 💗

Speaking of gifts, I would like to extend the bouquet of early-blooming parentheses I offered my readers to everyone here as I feel grateful to be part of this exceptionally warm, witty, and brilliant community:

((()))

You may also enjoy my very boring story of what could have been in under 200 words:

https://margaretannaalice.substack.com/p/early-blooming-parentheses-a-very

Expand full comment

Reason #777 I love cats

Expand full comment

I guess kitties know best. You will own nothing. And you will be happy. Klaus Schwab was right! ;-) (Leave it to me to throw something negative in the mix. lol) Merry Christmas!

Expand full comment

I had a cat who liked to be carried around in a bag. Whenever we had visitors (whom I forgot to warn) who left an open bag of any sort sitting on the floor, she immediately jumped in and looked expectantly for a ride. Usually took some explaining.

Expand full comment

There were times when my kids were toddlers that we got them gifts and they were more interested in the packaging and wrappings than the actual gift

Expand full comment

I miss our sweet little calico bundle of fur, she just showed up at our back door many years ago all hurt and looking for a new home. ❤️

it’s almost been 1 yr since she left us. 🐱🥺😢😢

Expand full comment

🤣 Every cat I ever had…. Fancy cat toys, ignored totally. Bags and balls of tinfoil…👍

Expand full comment

Cats like boxes more

Expand full comment

If it fits, I sits, so says my Woodrow. He’ll sits even when he doesn’t fits. He also loves the clothes hamper. He takes a running leap and in he goes. Merry Christmas El Gato Malo. Your posts are purrrrfect.

Expand full comment

Purrrfect.

Expand full comment

Perfect! I had to cut a piece of nylon wire tie off of a gift this morning, and threw it to our little kitty, and she had a blast with it. Why spend 20 bucks on a toy, when a nylon wire tie will do nicely?

Merry Christmas, Gato Malo. Love the hard work you put in every day.

Expand full comment

...cats & cat lovers rule💕🐱💕

Expand full comment
founding

There is always an upside.

You may be bad, but you are not on the naughty list.

Merry Christmas Gato.

Expand full comment

And your reminder that yes--it's the thought that matters...

Expand full comment

I got my dogs a bag. They both shit in it.

Expand full comment

The simple things… ❤️

Expand full comment

The thing about wrappings and boxes and cardboard tubes is that you can do so much with them, it's just up to your imagination. Most toys, they're the product of someone else's imagination, and there's no work for you to do, the thinking has been done for you - and that's no fun.

Expand full comment

I told Miss Poofy Floofers (our son's name for her) this morning as she was growling and carrying on that it's sad that el gato will never meet you because you would give him some great cat memes! She has never bitten anyone; she's all growl and no bite....and doesn't like bags or boxes.

Expand full comment

absolutely perfect

Expand full comment

This is EVERYTHING!🥰

Expand full comment

Our cat slept through our entire gift unwrapping process. Snoring. Not so much as a twitch.

Expand full comment

El Gato Malo, I am going to Aguadilla in a few days, I would love to buy you a Cerveza, but I realize we need to continue OPSEC until we defeat the Covidiots. Hopefully someday I can buy you one...... Keep up the good work!

Expand full comment

Had cats as a child; can confirm.

Expand full comment

Perfect! What cat doesn't love to get into a good bag....or box!

Expand full comment

Should have gotten a box…

Expand full comment

less is more

Expand full comment

Meowy Christmas El Gato Malo and a pawtastic holiday season!!

Expand full comment

Feliz Navidad El Gato Malo ! My Cats Love Boxes...

Expand full comment

It’s the thought that counts

Expand full comment

Merry Christmas!

Expand full comment

Merry Christmas

Expand full comment

awwww, so true! cats do it right--they have christmas at least once a week. ;>)

Expand full comment

This is so true. A bag or a box and my kitty will find it and get inside. Every time.

Expand full comment

Dear bad cat, thank you so much for all you do and your immense hard work. In these dark days of global derangement your jokes and astonishing analyses keep me going, on the opposite side of the globe. The world of freedom and reason is lucky to have you; I hope you go into 2022 with people who love you and appreciate you as you deserve.

Expand full comment

Brilliant.

Expand full comment

Spot on! My daughter wrapped an empty box for our cats-they loved it, along with the other boxes and bags and ribbon!

Expand full comment

I don't know how to reach data but i think is possible to calculate Covid Deaths as a function (number of old people)*(number vaccinations)*(Max Temperatue-Min Temperature)/(numer of healed)/(Min Temperature); hope someone will show this correlation and put end at all...

Expand full comment

If I fits, I sits!

Expand full comment

This is so cute. <3

Expand full comment

Merry Christmas!! Thank you for brightening my year!

Expand full comment

Too clever, whoever ❤️

Expand full comment

My dogs got diarrhea for Christmas, yay me.

Expand full comment