122 Comments

The science is settled - that is a glorious piece of meat.

Expand full comment

The stakes are high when the steaks are at sea level. But obligate carnivore means obligate carnivore. :)

Expand full comment

Can you BBQ some bugs and creepy crawlies because by next year that's what the WEF will have you BBQing?

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2022·edited Apr 4, 2022

Cultural appropriation alert: tomahawk

Expand full comment

The steak looks great, but the water is calling my name!

Expand full comment

Science is served, rare.

Expand full comment

Your steakholders will be proud. Science.

Expand full comment

As long as you cooked that steak to 145 degrees, the CDC says it's safe and effective!

Expand full comment

That’s not BBQ. That’s grilling.

Expand full comment

I’m glad you’re having a good vacation you deserve it.

Expand full comment

Reporting from the front lines of paradise....

Expand full comment

Been wondering about that my entire life . And now I know . My second biggest question is when and where are you picking me up for the next excursion?

Expand full comment

I hope the cats got some..........

Expand full comment

Gato, It's easy to grin

When your ship comes in

And you've got the stock market beat.

But the man worthwhile,

Is the man who can smile

When his shorts are too tight in the seat.

Expand full comment

Lovely. I will not show this to my husband. The combination of boating and grilling steaks would be too much for him.

A word of caution. Never do wings on your rod mounted grill. We tried to burn our sailboat down doing that. Scorched the teak.

Even I feel wistful. Count your blessings.

Expand full comment

I'm allergic to red meat, so I'm going to petition a parallel study on thick pork chops, please. We need to know that white meats so prove out...

Expand full comment

That steak will be one of the first things banned for purchase with central bank digital currency. Right after fuel for power boats. That is a good trick with just BBQ with a grill and no oven for a reverse sear. Well done, (not the meat.)

Expand full comment

The science is terrific but it is your courage that is most impressive

Expand full comment

Carnivore gonna carnivore.

Expand full comment

Nobody deserves this more :-)

Expand full comment
founding

Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum!

Expand full comment

Thank goodness there are still people out there doing the right things for the Earth. ;-)

Expand full comment

This is real Science. I just hope you can successfully replicate your results.

Expand full comment

Thanks for all you do. Humankind will be forever in your debt.

Expand full comment

grilled ribeye at anchor on a beautiful day, who could ask for more, beautiful

Expand full comment
founding

Your willingness to potentially sacrifice such a gorgeous piece of meat on our behalf is much appreciated, and we’re glad no such sacrifice was required in the end.

Expand full comment

OMG...that view is in Culebra. Right? So jealous. Have a wonderful time!

Expand full comment

I presume the steak was unvaccinated.

And you were well-marinated.

Expand full comment

Dude, you're overcooking it.

Expand full comment

As my father used to ask/answer: "Yes, but are you truly happy?" "Absolutely!"

Expand full comment

This needs fact checking. Too bad it's still half a foot of snow outside.

Expand full comment

I just ate, but you are making me hungry again!

Expand full comment

Some science can be settled. This is one of those cases! Thank you, Sr Gato.

Expand full comment

Looks amazing and your dedication to science really is limitless!

Expand full comment

So much perfection in this one photo...thanks for sharing your science!

Expand full comment

It's a relief to know that we still have dedicated scientists out there.

Expand full comment

I tried in Nicaragua, doesn't work. Is there some democratic adjustments that need to be made?

Expand full comment

has anyone offered to marry you yet?

Expand full comment

AND! YOU! COOKED! IT! WITH! CO2! PRODUCING! PROPANE! and not that bastard gas butane.

Expand full comment

So where does one sign up to be a gatopal™? #ForScience

Expand full comment

Nice!

Expand full comment

We thank you for your sacrifice!

Expand full comment

For a very brief time in the beginning of my adolescence, I tried to be a vegetarian.

It is always futile to deny one's own nature. I am woman; I eat steak, and inside that gorgeous charred crust I want to see blood.

Expand full comment

Ahem. I know you said "on a boat" and not "at sea," but does this truly settle the fundamental BBQ question? The photo seems to show Beaufort 0 or 1:

0--Calm. Smoke rises vertically. Sea like a mirror.

1--Light Air. Direction shown by smoke drift but not by wind vanes. Sea rippled.

Either way, I bet the smoke drift smelled pretty righteous.

Expand full comment

You took one for the team.

Thank you for offering your bodies for the betterment (is that a word?) of humankind.

I hope you brought a meat thermometer and cooked to 128F. That’s my steak number.

Expand full comment

I'm wondering what wine or scotch you drank

Expand full comment

Such a beautiful part of the world. Thank you for sharing!!!

Expand full comment

Science wins again. . . every time.

Expand full comment

Eres un gatito muy malo. Did it for science indeed, estás disfrutando demasiado de la vida.

Expand full comment