31 Comments

I would respectfully disagree, in part. I had never used Twitter prior to the pandemic. My FB was horrible (still is, but I no longer go there.) But on Twitter I found good data and a wealth of independent opinions. I got pissed when they started censorship, deleted my account. But then could find no other source for the info and alternative opinions I was after, had to get a new account. I am very careful about who I follow, and especially about reading comments. Some posters, I just never look at comments, just primary tweets. There is still more good data and independent thinking here, or pointers to same, than anywhere else I have found. I regularly visit a few not on Twitter, notably the Gato and James Howard Kunstler. But I find Twitter is, in a way, each person's creation. I don't see much of the toxicity, which I don't disagree exists, but can be eliminated or ignored.And I follow NOBODY I personally know.

Expand full comment

Fact Check: True. They were on their way here, but crashed into the sun taking AlienGram selfies.

Expand full comment

Great advice. Many people succumbed to substance addictions over the past year; my drug is news and social media. It's bad. Been going for a long bike ride every night but it's not enough.

Expand full comment

Agreed. But school just informed us that with a population vax rate of 83%, kids are still required to mask in school full time. Twitter seems to reflect the real world we are living in. Sadly.

Expand full comment

Yes. I did chores before FB this am and found how much more clear my mind is. (My FB is a fairly pleasant place.) We are active with Concerned Citizens and went to two in person meetings to protest 6000 acres of prime farmland to be chewed up by 20 foot high solar panels. We are trying to get a brake out on the number of acres being taken by this. We are N Illinois and not that much sun.

Expand full comment

Here's the problem... the screaming hoards on social media are increasingly able to inflict their will on everyone else through government mandates. Going outside can make them even harder to ignore.

Expand full comment

Twitter is mostly dominated by fanatics, frauds, fear-mongers and fools… Prolonged exposure to them is hazardous to one’s health.

Expand full comment

truer words never spoken. I was w/out internet yesterday/last evening. I missed reading you and others. Some of what I see reinforces that I am not crazy, that things just might be ok in the end (if there is one) and that people by and large are smart, educated and think rationally.

Expand full comment

my therapeutic cigar is due in 20 minutes....

Expand full comment

Great Minds... I have purposed eschewed Twitter for the last couple days, except for blind posting via Buffer, and I feel wonderful. I am curious, but not enough so to make me check!

Expand full comment

I actually can't understand people who live on Twitter. I've gotten caught up in it a few times, but then I try to go back on and I feel like I'm walking into brothel or a leper colony, something really unhealthy and exploitative.

Expand full comment

By the time any civilization has advanced to the point that they can willfully travel the universe they would likely be uninterested in contacting us. That or they’d be too alien to us to meaningfully communicate.

Expand full comment

Social media is a haven for narcissists, and chinese bots fanning the flames of our destruction from within.

Expand full comment

Nah. I'll keep pounding my hobbyhorses:

1. Conspiracies are impossible in the open West. Our recent string of "bad luck" is the result of perverse incentives -- mainly those produced by our government.

2. We need to separate the concepts of "education" and "schooling." One can be extremely (and expensively!) well-schooled and completely uneducated, and vice versa.

Expand full comment

I am reminded of Stromae's "Carmen"

Expand full comment

Temporary solution to Fermi's Paradox: this actually would be the most embarrassing moment in human history to have aliens dropping by.

Alien scout: Greetings earthling, we bring knowledge to take humankind up to the next civilizational stage.

Me: Save it cowboy, we went the other way. Move along, nothing to see here.

Expand full comment

Happy Friday!

Expand full comment

>"agitated ball of vibrating indignation"

Fun cat trivia: cats can purr for a variety of reasons, including to self-soothe during periods of extreme stress and annoyance!

I know I'd be preaching to the choir here to note how terrible for human health Twitter is, but I'll say it anyway. Everyone just get off Twitter. Stop lending it your power and voice. I promise you are getting the worse end of the deal.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment