159 Comments

Muchas gracias, Professor Gato, for making it so easy for us! All we need to remember is “because, science,” and we never need to try that exhausting exercise called thinking again!

Expand full comment

Years ago, Lufthansa which I used to avoid, unlike other airlines had its smoking/non-smoking arranged fore and aft: non-smoking left hand rows, smoking across the aisle in the right hand rows.

Then came wide-body jets, and with renowned rigid Germanic adherence to rules, the non-smoking/smoking demarcation went down the middle of the centre rows of seats, so if you were lucky enough to be seated in the centre, the person next to you on your right, at your elbow, could smoke. However it was streng verboten for the smoke to come in your direction, and so good, obedient German smoke stayed in the smoking zone and didn’t at all bother non-smokers.

Expand full comment

this is very funny. We are living in a nightmare.

This is just a few steps away to the ends of this charade. Complete totalitarianism

two weeks ago I took my 98 year old daddy to surgery (he got a nerve block and was fully awake) to repair his fractured and displaced olecranon. I stayed with him until he had to go into surgery, then I waited in the large "waiting room" very open and modern, small hospital but dad's surgeon was excellent and quite handsome...

Anyway. I sat in a part of the large room, not close to anyone within several +++ yards. The two overseers at the front desk constantly monitored everyone's mask wearing.

I would have gone out to my car but it was fricking freezing outside. And I needed to be available. So, I decided to eat my lunch... It was 1:00 and I was starving. I had a sandwich that I opened up and I was told to keep my mask on. No one was near me. It was so weird. People are nuts. I took bites and immediately replaced my mask and chewed vigorously. Once, the overseer told me my nose needed to be covered.

What a load of garbage. Is this the future of human behavior?

Later on I took a walk down the length of the very new small hospital on Route 50 in Northern Virginia.... and there was a cafeteria of sorts. I should have eaten there. Employees were enjoying their lunch with their masks pulled down to their chin.

We are living in psychotic times

Expand full comment

There's a glaring omission in your explanation “because, science!” Last week on Sunday Morning Fauci made it clear he IS science and any criticism of him is anti-science so this needs source attribution or even substitution. Perhaps Websters can change their science definition too.

Expand full comment

One more lesson kids and kitties: In 1854 Dr John Snow discovered that people were catching cholera in Soho from an infected well which he shut down.

At the time health "experts" (I hear groans) were convinced it was the gaseous miasma from the open sewers. Work had begun on covering these drains but it was ten years after his discovery before they realised that Dr Snow was correct and it wasn't "miasma" . But then Fauci, Mr Science, wasn't yet born so there was no Science, just "experts".

Despite evidence, Dr Snow was ignored and ridiculed, as most conspiracy theorists should be (until they're right!).

Expand full comment

Every other seat at the gate of my flight last week from Philly to Dallas was a no fly zone. Five minutes later we were shoulder to shoulder on a four hour flight.

BECAUSE, SCIENCE!

Expand full comment

<raises hand>. “Professor Gato, do we have to know this for the quiz?”

Expand full comment

The two swim suits meme will be making its rounds in my social orbit post haste

Expand full comment

You are also in more danger of catching Covid on a Boeing 737-900 than on a 50-seat Canadair Regional Jet. On the Boeing, which has 3 seats across, one aisle, and another 3 seats across, you cannot sit in the middle seat. Too dangerous. But on the CRJ, which is 2-aisle-2, ALL seats are full up. At least it was last July when this cat flew.

Also at the plastics factory where I now work they have decided that it is too dangerous to hold our Christmas dinner. Never mind that everyone has worked together all shift, once the shift is over it is too dangerous for the same people to walk down the corridor to where the dinner used to be held.

But you know, science.

Expand full comment

That pathetic phrase was used by many parents of strong teenage boys - my son's age - while posting pics of them being injected with the myo/peri shots back in the summer. So shameful to force their athletic teens to take them without an ounce of evidence of long-term harm. That was the day when I started unfriending people on FB in order to save my sanity. It's infuriating and heartbreaking.

Expand full comment

Teacher, teacher, why must students wear masks when seated then? Is it because food absorbs coronavirus because, science?

Expand full comment

I never did the "wear a mask when not at your table" thing because it's dumb. Never got any problems from people, except maybe my wife once or twice, but eventually everywhere here (in Texas) just quit making customers do it and only made the staff stand around like drone servants.

Expand full comment

Too many questions.

I thought it was fine to pee in the swimming pool as long as you are vaccinated.

Do i need two suits now?

Expand full comment

Ah, the memories. Lo these many decades ago I was in the first nonsmoking row--right behind, ergo, the last smoking row. So I was of course breathing in the smoke from the smoker in front of me, and when I complained to the stewardess (we called 'em that back in prehistory), she kindly pointed out that that was the smoking section, and I was, as requested, in the nonsmoking...

Expand full comment

We live in a kabuki theater.

As long as it *looks* like we're doing something about what we've been told is worse than the black death, we feel OK about it.

Expand full comment

The restaurant issue is a difficult one for our elites to solve- too many of the population still need to use their mouths to eat, and a billion dollars worth of research still hasn't found a mask that allows that without having to be removed. However, once you get your abdominal feeding port to the stomach, you will learn to love your pureed soy steak and and faux potato.

Expand full comment

Tough, tough stuff this Science. I hope the next Gato installment includes information on how this tricky minx of a virus knew to avoid liquor stores but got absolutely vicious at AA meetings.

Expand full comment

Yes, question here. A bit unrelated. Does the same principle “mine only works if you use yours” of masks and vaccines also apply to food?

I mean, who can I blame that I am getting fatter?

Expand full comment

A friend recently went to speak to the administration at her child’s private school. She said she was deeply troubled by not being allowed in her own child’s school building because she was vaccine free. She can’t see her child’s classroom, use the bathroom, or even chaperone an outdoor field trip. The administrator told her not to worry, the school was working very hard to get everyone on campus regardless of vaccination status for the school’s annual spring fundraiser. Yep.

Expand full comment

Let’s talk about crowded airports and planes next….😂😂😂

Expand full comment

I worked as a waitress years ago, so yeah restaurant food, because science, right

Expand full comment

My local news this am reported that the supply chain problems/ inflation, etc. are all due to the unvaccinated & those who haven't yet been boosted!!!! So if you want the economy to be robust once again, "get the vax/ boosted". This news is from an interview with a "professor" from a small private college who also happens to be a venture capitalist (the only qualifications stated for being a professor, btw).......Wonder what he has $$$ invested in - oh, yes, he's happy Moderna has the solution to it all. Poor kids who pay a fortune to go there for that "knowledge".

Expand full comment

I worked in restaurants back in my university days. I can certainly attest to that meme! I always tell my hubby when we are out, never order the special. They are trying to get rid of whatever it is. Of course, in Communist Canada, we are not allowed in restaurants anymore. We did a little overnighter Friday, so we could shop at Costco. The hotel, a lower end of our fav chain, was very clear the if we wanted to use the pool or "dining" area for the buffet breakfast, we'd have to show proof of injections, and they'd give us this little plastic unit to stand on our table and put on our towels. We assured the young woman, we'd not be using either. I then witnessed the next morning, a woman being screamed at from down the hallway by the staff, as she was self-serving at the buffet. That was always the way the buffet worked (even this September), but apparently Omicron means the staff have to serve her. AND, the server had stepped away. If I'd have been that woman, I'd have been mortified. Then angry. Not to mention, she was a racial minority, so not a good look for this chain. Good grief. What a wonderful world.

Expand full comment

Too funny and yes I remember the nonsmoking sections in restaurants…😂

Expand full comment

Still laughing at the fauci swimsuit meme. Awesome post!

Expand full comment

Ahhh, what a bright spot in my day! I love me a funny Bad Cat!

Expand full comment

Wow, yes I must double swimsuit - though our disorganised Council (Ceredigion) have still not opened the local pool. Do you think it best I double mask when swimming, because science, sorry Fauci? He says he is Science. I say I'm Jesus but most tell me I'm talking bollx so I feel an affinity with Fauci.

Expand full comment

Thanks for the morning laugh! 😸

Expand full comment

This appears to be the same science (sic) that led car manufacturers to give the driver and the passenger separate climate control systems.

Expand full comment

Professor Gato, in your next class, can you cover The Science that supports infectivity across city lines? For example, Palm Springs CA is all masked up while next door Rancho Mirage and Palm Desert do not require masks. Does the air or the virus differ across city boundaries?

Expand full comment

Never wear a mask because they don’t work. The more that refuse this silly mandate, the sooner, they will be gone for good. We are @ll ex3mot.

Expand full comment

Actually, the answer is “because public health”. Public health is not interested in individual risk. It is only interested overall health metric numbers. Currently, the the health metric numbers are public mobility and vaccinations. Anything that makes life more annoying like masking reduces public mobility and therefore increases “public health”.

Expand full comment

Great lesson that ! Specially how polite the virus is. We probably can just ASK it to go away and it will. Taking along all its adorers, even !

Expand full comment

Hilarious. And one of my favorites were the curfews! Oooooo! Scary, scary SCARY virus comes out at night! Especially after 10pm. The worst part... PEOPLE COMPLIED.

Expand full comment

oh, the science of it all

Expand full comment

Professor Gato, thank you! You have explained everything so clearly, I finally understand! It's science! Silly me for not getting that earlier! 😂😂

Expand full comment

Little plexiglass walls between students on round tables shared by 4 students in my kids fourth grade class. Anybody ever seen leaves in the wind pile up next to walls because of eddies of air? The leaves come from all over and get trapped there. I suspect the virus does the same thing, concentrating near walls instead of dissipating into the rooms large volume of air.

Expand full comment

Virus is also very unsophisticated, only spends time in cheap bars among cheap beer drinkers.

Expand full comment

Restaurant science... Kinda reminds me of bistromathics 🤣

Expand full comment

Hilarious . All true bc…. Science. Don’t forget the plexiglass

Expand full comment

"The psychological process of menticide so degrades the mental faculties that rational thinking is no longer possible, making you profoundly gullible. In this state, you’ll buy into any narrative without critical thinking." https://principia-scientific.com/the-phenomenon-of-mass-formation/

Expand full comment

Professor Gato, I really like the swimsuit analogy. I’m going to use it in the future. Thanks, so much.

Expand full comment

i am transferring to usf.....

Expand full comment

Love it. "Because science" logic makes all our physics and biology textbooks completely redundant!

Here's another one from our local school... Teachers, staff and contractors who come onto the school grounds have to be double jabbed (it would be too dangerous otherwise), however parents, anyone really, can come onto the grounds to watch a sports event, crowd together in the hall to watch a play, etc., that's OK. BUT as soon as you come onto the property and you are going to get paid - watch out! The virus knows you are getting paid, you are unvaxxed, and you are obviously a mortal danger to the school population.

Expand full comment

Yeah, these rules are the equivalent of the parental "Because I said so!"

Follow my authority because you have to prove your ability to follow my authority, not because there is a rational answer to your "Why"? Lather, rinse, and repeat until I teach you to stop asking why.

Bad parenting, bad governance.

Expand full comment

I laughed out loud! Thanks!

Expand full comment

Tangential, but we need to replace school desks with restaurant tables, which repel the coof

Expand full comment

I have a question. Is it too late to get a refund on this class for the semester?

Expand full comment

How come my condo building used to have occupancy limits on the elevator but have since dropped them in lieu of masking?

Expand full comment