126 Comments

I am a primary care doctor at a large academic center. In a staff meeting today the leadership presented data reported from the CDC showing unvaccinated individuals 12x more likely to die from covid. I cant find the data but here is a cnn report about it. https://www.cnn.com/2021/10/15/health/cdc-covid-risk-higher-unvaccinated/index.html

There was so much moralizing and pleading and saying of things like "vaccines are the only way out of this, you simply must get your unvaccinated patients vaccinated." I dont even know how to begin to approach this.

Iam in this virtual room w/60+ docs and it seems most people are so fervently committed to this you cant even discuss it. They have this "data" and that is the end of it. They are fully convinced they have the truth and they are the righteous ones. The disdain for unvax was palpable. These people are using all of their influence to push the agenda. They have all the media on their side. They have huge numbers at least where i am. I just dont have the command of the data to walk into an environment with all these infectious disease docs and say, "look you are wrong and here is why." I tried this once on a small scale and it did not go well. No one wants to listen.

I mean how does it go..."hey look, i know every government agency, health leader, media outlet, pharmaceutical company and doctor you have ever talked to says that these vaccines are totally safe and effective and you have to be a sociopathic loon to avoid them.... but you see there is this cat on substack that says you are looking at this the wrong way."

Expand full comment

"The only way to deal with an unfree world is to become so absolutely free that your very existence is an act of rebellion."

Albert Camus

Expand full comment

After much consideration, I decided on what to write on that surgical mask I was forced to wear at the dentist last week and will wear again in another week. I had settled on "Why are you afraid?" but then I had a better idea, probably from one of el gato's memes. The trick was finding something comparable to how it spread out on my face, and the stuffed animal I thought of using worked perfectly. I wrote: "It's not about a virus." I'll report how it goes next week. 😸

Expand full comment

“One of the most important tasks the ‘dissident movements’ have set themselves is to support and develop [parallel social structures]. . . What else are those initial attempts at social self organization than the efforts of a certain part of society to . . . rid itself of the self-sustaining aspects of totalitarianism and, thus, to extricate itself radically from its involvement in the [totalitarian] system?”

Václav Havel, The Power of the Powerless

Expand full comment

Absolutely. Fine sentiment, but it’s a whole lot easier to talk the talk than it is to walk the walk. The walkers make the difference.

Expand full comment

In other words, be a cat.

Expand full comment

I think as we go forth, if we want to win, we need to remember:

OUR SIDE doesn't judge or mandate based upon people's choices. Individual human beings can mask, vaccinate, boost, or whatever they want as long as THEY are freely choosing those actions.

NO ONE should comply, even if their choices match what is being asked of them (for now). Do not submit your vax status. Refuse to obtain or show any kind of passport or proof of vaccination. Refuse routine testing.

OUR SIDE is for freedom, but their side will try to divide us into "vaxxed and unvaxxed" or "maskers or anti-maskers" because they sense that if they can do that, they will win.

*Caveat: I'm working really hard on not judging people for some of these things, because I know we've got bigger fish to fry than the guy in the next lane alone in his car with a mask on. He's fun to laugh at, but truth is if Brandon signed an executive order that said, "NO ONE is allowed to wear a mask while alone," I'd fight that, too. Tyranny will ultimately squash all of us, even if, for the moment, we are the ones who benefit from it.

Expand full comment

Had covid! Not taking Jab..ever

Expand full comment

I will NEVER COMPLY!

Expand full comment

“You can deliver yourselves if you try, not by taking action, but merely by willing to be free. Resolve to serve no more, and you are at once freed. I do not ask that you place hands upon the tyrant to topple him over, but simply that you support him no longer; then you will behold him, like a great Colossus whose pedestal has been pulled away, fall of his own weight and break into pieces.”

—Étienne de La Boétie, “The Politics of Obedience: The Discourse of Voluntary Servitude”

Expand full comment

I watched a video with Catherine Austin Fitts, an exceptional lady who has followed the machinations of the Deep State actors behind this debacle for years. She explains in sobering detail that plans that "they" have for us, and their goals for our dystopian future. While there appear to be few things we "normies" can do in the short run to thwart their plans, one thing she mentioned really struck me - shunning. Turns out that shunning; i.e., refusing to do business with "them," refusing to deal with them, refusing to even pay attention to them, can be a very powerful tool, one that has been practiced for centuries to great affect. It may not be easy to stop doing business with the likes of Amazon, Walmart, etc., since we have become dependent on them and their convenience, wholesale shunning of the oligarchs who are destroying our lives may be one sliver of hope in our efforts to turn the tide against them. Do business with local merchants, local credit unions or banks, local shop and grocery stores, etc. Starve the beast, before the beast devours what is left of our liberty. FWIW.

Expand full comment

I think the vaccine data is not hard to navigate. If somebody says there is no short term (I´ll say again: short term, and only Covid related issues. How it will affect general health within a few years, that´s another thing, and it looks really bad) benefit at all in advanced age demographic sections, he/she´ll have a hard time supporting that reasoning with data, because indeed there is a small benefit in that society area. But at all ages, the difference is really tiny, and we´re just talking about Covid, without taking into account the probable repercussions in people´s general health. Whoever says that the difference in protection is 14 times higher, is lying. And if that person says that a short term reduction in one particular disease means an increase in social health, then that person is dumb.

But the problem is not if it somehow works in high-risk individuals, but if there is any reason AT ALL to force vaccination in people of all ages, when the Infection Fatality Rate, even at Covid´s peak, was around 0,03% in ages 0-70. If you are going to force something, you better have different data than Covid´s, because it does not show the necessity of global vaccination, and the risks associated are mostly unknown. It is clear that the spike protein does not always stay in the area of the injection, so massive problems could end up happening. And they will. They are now.

Expand full comment

problem is, that is what this current admin is practicing with the utter no common sense/ulterior motive against the american people mess it is making, from supply chain issues to inflation and all in between. this admin and the health agencies are not complying to the american peoples needs and breaking the laws constantly. if they complied with truth, reason moderation and real science and stats, we would not be in this mess...

Expand full comment

I would prefer if it said “I do not comply” or “I do not consent”. More defiant, plus people don’t like being told what to do lol. But I’m nit-picking

Expand full comment

It will all "Come out in the wash" eventually. I can't imagine being in meetings with educators today, and am fortunate to be retired. Certain populations, such as teachers, health care providers (admin. mostly) have bought into this hook, line and sinker. I live in a retirement community and am glad to say I have had a hand in getting things "going" again (golf NEVER shut down...$$$$) but even the most involved and intelligent have been backed into corners because of fear. Performing arts and singing groups have been reinstated as well as exercise classes and other groups (no masks!) which makes me happy. I don't participate in "I got my booster" or "there's currently a spike" conversations and just carry on. Planning a neighborhood get-together for December. Those who are still "concerned" can stay home. Get out, look around, and participate and be the example. Just may repost this however for good measure. There is right and there is wrong. This is RIGHT.

Expand full comment

First I would have to join social media.

Expand full comment

I have the bumper sticker and the t-shirt. Been living it since I could first backtalk mom and pops 😜

Expand full comment

Thanks for your writing. I am not ungovernable. I am not a subject.

Expand full comment

"Be the change you want to see in the world" is the dictum. You can't do that by merely grandstanding on the Internet.

Expand full comment

"Would be a shame if more people changed this to their profile picture..." strikes me as a negative statement.

Seems to me that this Daily Wire journalism *probably* meant to state an affirmation/positive:

"It would be a shame if more people didn't change this to their profile picture..."

Expand full comment

Too bad they weren’t this active in April 2020.

Expand full comment

Love this.

Expand full comment

I think first eliminate dependencies on “them”, then “they” can’t govern you.

Expand full comment

93%-Vaccinated Ireland Has Gone Back Into 'Partial Lockdown', Including Midnight Curfew

Expand full comment

Never done this before; lets see if it worked . . .

Expand full comment

Yeah enough of the virtue signaling on social media. Why out yourself there. Go underground and become ungovernable. Move, if you can, to shore up the red states.

Expand full comment

Puss,

I do all I can within the law to NOT comply.

1. NEVER will vax

2. Got a lawful self-declared mask exemption. Put it on in supermarket checkouts and take it off immediately upon checkout exit. Why? I feel a bit uncomfortable when I see a checkout babe with two masks, a face shield and gloves on! To avoid breathing in dusk and gunk, I wear a WET cloth mask. I got the idea from divers.

3. Spend full-time reading and sharing reading on my SM accounts.

Send my well-known questions re the "vaccination" to "experts", and any other people and orgs I come across.

4. Able and willing to engage in intellectual combat with anyone on a general level, of course, since I am not even a science person.

There are people still wearing masks outdoors and in cars when they are not required. I saw two women masked up as I did my quick walk minutes ago! On a beautiful sunny, with a light breeze!

"Give to Caesar what is Caesar's" - meaning we have to comply with the law. We have the power to change the law. Don't break it; change it!

Expand full comment

Become ungovernable:

My name on Zero Hedge, where I am a prominent commenter:

Deplorable: Anyone who hates Hillary Clinton is a "deplorable"

Goblin: Sarah Jeong hates white people and thinks they should live underground because of the sun. AKA "goblin" - this is actually amusing.

Front Hole: An organ that some people think is a sign of womanhood but doesn't actually exist in the way they think it does.

Screw society.

Expand full comment

I just changed my FB profile pic to this! Now to go to Instagram!

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment